Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This is shaping up to be an un-Godly busy week, some items more pleasant than others.

On Saturday, I had the pleasure of going to the indoor farmers’ market here in Port.  If you live in the area and haven’t had the opportunity to go yet, I highly recommend that you do.  It is not only an opportunity to shop and sample, but a wonderful venue for conversation and fellowship.  My daughter and I milled about, tasting and talking, browsing and enjoying the company of friends, new and old alike.

I was then able to introduce a neighbor, her niece (age 13) and nephew (age 9) to our hive.  The weather was in the upper 50’s/low 60’s and the bees were out socializing, doing some housekeeping, gathering some pollen (even still!), getting a drink from our “watering hole” (a crock with wine corks floating on top), and going to the bathroom.  What pleased me the most was the 9 year old’s knowledge of honeybees, their life-cycle and their importance to us.  They were fascinated and addicted to watching them through the observation window.  I love creating new fans of the bees and also seeing people’s reactions about the hive and the bees at work– they truly are magical!

The afternoon fun ended abruptly with a quick trip to the ER for my daughter, who had an, um, incident on her scooter that involved a flight over the handlebars, pavement, a bruised cheekbone, a skinned knee and one fractured left arm. Ahhh, the joys of managing my hive of humans!  🙂

Today was spent getting a full arm cast for said fracture, and then it was off to tend to what was, at one time, our vegetable garden in the back yard.  I took down fencing that kept (or tried to keep!) our city deer population at bay, putting some around my juvenile magnolia tree to keep it from being rutted against by a rogue, frustrated buck, but alas I noticed I was a little late, as there were already some fresh scratches on the tree.  That tree has to be doomed, as a rutting two years ago left half of it demolished.  We had some broccoli that we neglected to harvest and that we let flower, and sure enough, it got warm enough for me to enjoy some of our honeybees coming and going, providing some entertainment for me.  I put a small amount of fencing up to protect our new grape sprouts that the deer munched early this summer– I guess we will have to see if they ever make it.  Then it was on to cutting down the asparagus, garlic and onions that went to seed, raking and mowing the remnants.  This is always a sad time of year, the dismantling of the gardens…

After a tiring afternoon in my gardens, it was on to the first of many meetings for the week, this one being about another one of my “hives,” the youth of the church I attend and am employed by, St. Peter’s United Church of Christ in Saukville.  I not only am a member and a Faith Formations teacher for 6th-8th grade, but I am also the Youth Director.  Luckily, it was a short meeting as I was/am fairly exhausted.

The agenda for the rest of the week includes the Common Council meeting tomorrow night, the Beesentation Wednesday night, two parent-teacher conferences and the Planning Commission meeting Thursday night (*UPDATE: the Planning Commission meeting was cancelled*), and Friday it’s off to a retreat with 2 of my youth until Sunday.  And this isn’t even counting in the daily grind and things that are bound to come up.  I have a ton of emails to catch up on, a paper to write, two books to read, and I can feel the anxiety building in my chest… time to remember the deep breathing exercises.  🙂

I am extremely excited about the Beesentation, a chance to not only see Charlie, but to meet new people, spread awareness about beekeeping (esp. urban beekeeping), and talk about/share stories about a hobby that has infected almost every avenue of my life.  I take that back– it is no longer a hobby, it is a passion.  I look forward to not only creating interest and maybe even fans, but also to having concerns addressed and hopefully, with the proper, responsible education and information, put some of the myth-based fears to rest.  It is a big undertaking, but if anyone can do it, it’s Charlie.

Barring any unforeseen turn of events at tomorrow night’s Council meeting, the next post I will write will be on the well-attended, successful Beesentation (how’s that for positive thinking?!?!).  Again, it is in the Community Room at the Niederkorn Library in Port Washington Wednesday from 6-7:45 PM.  BEE there!!

