Tags

, , , , , , ,

I return from a much needed self-imposed period of non-blogging for a couple of reasons: 1.) “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything,”  and, 2.) I have made it this far in my dealings with City officials without having stooped to the level in which I have been treated at times, without having engaged in a back-and-forth/tit-for-tat exchange when provoked, and I have been nothing but proactive even when needlessly bound by red tape.  Even as I type this, it tales all that I have to not spew forth a lot of the thoughts that have been going through my head for 2 months (but especially for the last 3 weeks), which is why I went radio-silent.

Hasn’t helped much.  🙂

There hasn’t been much to report, unfortunately.  The Beesentation was held a few weeks ago in response to City Aldermen stating that they did not have much education or information to base a decision on; only 1 Alderman showed up.  Part of me (naively) thought that I would be contacted in the weeks following the Beesentation from City officials with questions, concerns, or to gather information.  Not so much.  Actually, not at all.  I spoke with the Mayor by phone shortly after the Beesentation and told him that for the first time in this process, I was at a loss for what I could do next.  He was sympathetic but stated that there wasn’t much that he could really do (which I already knew).  I asked him if he happened to know what the City Council’s plan was for obtaining education, since only 1 of the 7 had taken mine or Charlie’s  invitation to contact us.  Nope, no idea.

While it would have been great to then hit my blog, Twitter and Facebook with a scathing 5,000 word rant, including the names, phone numbers and email addresses of the Aldermen and every other City official, that is not the row I chose to hoe.  When we received that first letter from the City, we had a choice to make:  fight or educate and advocate.  If we would have chosen to fight, we would have put a lot of people on the defense, and rarely does anything good come of that.  So we chose to educate and advocate.  This has meant a lot of tongue-biting, taking the high road, walking away, smiling when you want to scream, and a lot of Radio Silence.  This means that I sit through City Council meetings where the very Alderman who called my honeybees a danger to children advocates for the right for people to be armed with guns in City Hall.

It is hard to not get bitter, angry, and at the end, apathetic.  But I smile on, push the rock up the hill, and will continue to until all of my avenues are completely exhausted.

